Plant sale report

Well the plant sale was a hit.  Not only was it a lot of fun, but I also sold a lot more plants than I was expecting to (admittedly, my nursery is still not too well known).  It was good to meet some of my customers in person as well!  I also enjoyed seeing what other nurseries are growing.  I like to spy on them of course, and this way I didn’t have to go far to do so.  If you missed it here are a few pictures from the event.

img_5667.jpg

The NHS provided a nursery sign for me and you can also view my impromptu ‘Australian Plants’ sign.  I’ll have to work on more signage for the next sale; it might have helped sales.  I also need to print a pic of the Banksia flowers – no one bought those big ones.  Live and learn.  The little pictures in the front are of Grevilleas and Callistemons, which sold pretty well.

img_5672.jpg

img_5674.jpg

Fewer people bought plants from the side of the table, mainly because they simply weren’t as prominently displayed, I think.

img_5677.jpg

This picture displays my fancy yellow popsicle stick tags (I would like to make them another color for the next sale – suggestions welcome!) and homemade pot stickers.  The stickers came out great and are a lot cheaper than plant tags.  Some customers liked how they didn’t have to turn their head sideways to read about the plants.  I will still go to plant tags eventually since they are more versatile.  Those tag making systems aren’t cheap though, compared to my system!

img_5669.jpg

The vendor across the way with their fancyplants.

img_5675.jpg

Our immediate neighbors were again Chimacum Woods, as they were in the Mediterranean Society sale.  I am very tempted to get a couple of his Rhododendrons even though I probably shouldn’t.

img_5678.jpg

Also next door to us was Sue Olsen, fern extraordinaire.  It was a pleasure meeting and talking to her.  She is the author of THE book on garden ferns, an impressive and comprehensive work (I don’t remember the exact title).

Leave a Reply

