Christmas greetings!

Here at the Desert Northwest we would like to wish anyone who manages to read this, a very warm and pleasurable Christmas. We know that a lot of people find the holidays to be a stressful time of the year or just plain don’t care for Christmas. But we feel there is no harm in wishing positive things for you anyways. Can it hurt? So there you go.

Today is also special because it marks the five year anniversary of this blog. Wow – it does not seem that I have been blogging for five years! When I started this, blogging was just becoming big – now it seems everyone has a blog. There are so many blogs out there one can hardly keep track and (dare I say) way too many “garden bloggers” recycling the same old boring information. We will take that as a challenge to keep this blog interesting into the future!

The picture above is a little bit special. I don’t much care for the hustle and bustle and mass-commercialization of the holiday season. I’m also not really a fan of “Christmas music” and Santa Claus. The best holiday season I ever had was the one where I took off on December 2 on a huge botanical expedition to the Southwest and returned to the Northwest on Christmas Eve. So basically I missed the whole thing. On that trip I took this picture of Arctostaphylos patula in southern Utah. I didn’t spend a lot of time on the pic but I thought the leaves and bark made a nice contrast with the snow. You can click to expand it and use it as wallpaper! A little something from us.

Have a great holiday and we’ll see you in 2012!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Loree / Danger garden
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 22:02:08

    Five years! Lordy you’re a veteran, I had no idea. Guess I’d better go check out your archives for valuable information that I’ve missed.

    Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  2. Mark and Gaz
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 01:30:17

    Happy 5th Year Anniversary, and Merry Christmas too! Enjoy the festive season 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ian
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 22:37:32

    Loree, ha – the farther back you go, the less exciting it gets, and you will notice some major gaps of inactivity!

    Mark and Gaz – thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

