Plant sale news!

Finally, I think we have a pretty good idea of what our regional plant sale line-up will look like for the near future. So, as promised, here it is!

On April 7 – 8, we will be making an appearance for the first time at Hortlandia, the Hardy Plant Society of Oregon’s spring sale at the Portland Expo center. This sale is HUGE with more than 100 nurseries, and we are really excited to be in it! (I sure hope I can get all my stuff together and get ready!) Oregon people, tell all your friends!

Then on April 13 – 14 we will be at the Bloedel Reserve premier plant sale on Bainbridge Island. Last year was the first time for this event, and it was splendidly coordinated and promoted, and was a huge success! For all you plant lovers on the west side of Puget Sound this event is not to be missed!

Then the following weekend, April 20 – 21… yep three in a row (yikes!) we will be at the Rhododendron Species Botanic Garden spring sale in Federal Way. This will be a new one for us. If you are in the South Sound area this is your chance to shop from us without traveling too far – plus many other great nurseries will be there.

Don’t forget that we will happily accommodate special requests for what to bring to any of these sales. Send your list of exciting plants you want to mail@desertnorthwest.com and we will be sure to bring whatever you need! (Just don’t forget to tell us which sale it’s for!)

Following what will certainly be a crazy April, we will try to focus on work here at the nursery during the month of May. Then in June we will be appearing at the Secret Gardens of Lake Forest Park sale on June 18, at Lake Forest Park Town Center. And as always, we will be at the Fronderosa Frolic in August! And we may add another one or two; we shall see. We like to try a couple new ones every year just to see how they go.

Now, to recap the Sequim Garden Show: it was great, as always! It seems like the real plant nuts come out of the woodwork and this year the turnout was better than usual: it was VERY busy for a few hours on Saturday. It is always fun for me to meet local gardeners here in the Sequim area, many of whom are practically my neighbors. This is really a fun small town show and if you missed it, well, there’s always next year. Please enjoy these pics I took of the show.

This year the usual gratuitous “our awesome booth” shot doesn’t have anyone in it, since I pretty much did all the vending myself this time.

Just for fun I loaded up a whole table of Grevilleas. Many of them were in full flower so they sold pretty well!

And, following are a few more vendor booth shots. I hope they don’t mind.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Justin Galicic
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 21:17:55

    Can’t wait for the Bloedel plant sale!

    Reply

  2. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 10:54:30

    Hey! I think I see my Bottle Brush in one of those shots! 🙂 Great to meet you in person and yes, it was a wonderful show! I was so surprised to see a line out the door to gain entrance! Who knew?

    Reply

  3. Loree / Danger garden
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 23:16:53

    GET OUT!!! Your coming to Portland! I am so excited!! What do I need to try and talk you in to bringing? Oh gosh I’d better go spend some time looking through your catalogue…yay for Portland!

    Reply

  4. Ian
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 17:14:17

    Justin, me neither – it will be interesting to see how it goes this year, since expectations will be running high.

    Goatmother, the Sequim Garden Show hosts told us that turnout was far better than last year. Hey, we like that!

    Loree, yeah, they were very nice and squeezed me in. Let me know what you would like! I hope my car can survive the trip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

